Emmanuel Anyiam-Osigwe

Founder/ Co-Chair

Emmanuel has been the figurehead of BUFF since he envisioned & devised the concept of an urban film festival in the summer of 2005. In that time, the festival has awarded 63 actors, actresses, writers, producers & directors and has delivered 16 annual industry programmes. The festival has screened over 700 films, including its’ own feature film ‘No Shade’ which Emmanuel executive produced in 2018. In March 2020, Emmanuel received his MBE medal from HRH The Prince of Wales for services to the Black and Minority Ethnic film industry. Emmanuel appointed actor/ producer Justin Chinyere to succeed him from September 2021. Emmanuel is a full time Executive Producer at BUFF Originals, speaker and columnist.

Follow Emmanuel on Twitter @emmanuelanyiamo

Clare Anyiam-Osigwe BEM

Festival Co-Chair

Clare joined the 9th annual BUFF in July 2014 and has headed up the PR & publicity for 6 festivals, executive producing all 5 awards ceremonies and securing festival sponsorship. For the last 3 years she has been lead script judge and in 2018, she co-founded BUFF Originals which spawned the theatrical release of ‘No Shade’ which she wrote, directed & co-starred in. Clare is a full time Director, Producer and Screenwriter for Film and TV at BUFF Originals.

Follow Clare on Twitter @clareanyiamo 

Justin Chinyere

Festival Director

Justin is the newly appointed BUFF Director 2021. Taking up official appointment after 2 years training at BUFF since 2019, Justin has overseen submissions, was instrumental in the on-boarding of content to Apple TV working with Discentia and the filmmakers. Justin led the Film Jury during BUFF’s 15th annual festival, hosted festival Q&A’s, podcasts and edited the BUFF Awards in 2020. Justin will oversee the entire festival from the 16th annual edition in December 2021 leading on all areas of the brand from Submissions, to selections, marketing, managing festival partnerships, jurors, awards as the brand matures and evolves as it approaches its 20th year and beyond.

Follow Justin on Twitter @jcxappeal

Trish Bertram

Continuity Announcer

Trish is the longest serving female continuity announcer in British TV history. She started her career in 1982 with London Weekend Television, providing voice-over for LWT from 1982-2002. Trish has worked at various stations including UK Gold, BBC World, five, Westcountry Television, ITV3 and the main ITV network. She was one of the stadium announcers for the closing ceremony of the 2012 Summer Olympics and the opening & closing ceremonies of the 2012 Summer Paralympics ceremonies in London. In August 2013, Trish became the BUFF continuity announcer, providing voice-overs for all the film festival’s idents and publicity content.

Rasheed Bailey

Film Juror

Rasheed Bailey is an experienced film programmer, filmmaker and promoter. He currently works for Ghetto Film School as Director of External Affairs and formerly at MET Film School in the admissions department and with numerous Academy Award® and Bafta qualifying film festivals such as Raindance, Inside Out, Outfest and Iris Prize. He is the founder of Outcome LGBT®, a platform dedicated to promoting independent film from around the world. Rasheed has been a BUFF film juror since 2020.



Yonatan Tiruneh

Student Film Juror

Yonatan joined BUFF as a student film juror in Feb 2021. He came from Ethiopia to London at the age of 11 and attributes BUFF’s platform to his passion for filmmaking. Currently a student at Birmingham City University, Yonatan will develop as a film juror at the festival, supporting the team with the selection process, reporting and marketing. Yonatan recently received a scholarship from the Film And Screen School in Birmingham.

Jack Easton

BUFF Film Juror

Jack joined the BUFF team in June 2021, having previously worked at Bristol based Silverback Films. Jack is a BUFF Film Juror and a production assistant at BUFF Originals.


Femi Oyeniran


Femi Oyeniran is BUFF’s longest standing patron. Since 2015, Femi has supported the festival in various ways and is the official BUFF Awards co-host. In July 2021, Femi created a partnership with BUFF to support emerging filmmakers in the memory of Victor Adebodun via the Victor Adebodun foundation.

Sarah Poole

Script Juror

Sarah is the group co-ordinator at GoldFinch. Sarah is supporting the festival this year as a script juror.

Pete Storey

Film Juror

Pete is the Founder of GreenLit, the newest crowdfunding platform for indie film and theatre. Pete is supporting the festival as as Film Juror.

Gyulyara Meliki

Submissions Team/BUFF Blog

Gyulyara joined BUFF in November 2019 having previously judged films for the Lift-Off Global Network. Gyulyara is an alumni of Met Film School.